Oaxaca: Article 19 condemns attack on journalists

Article 19 logo @ Pozol.org

Since 26 February, at least 10 journalists from Oaxaca have suffered attacks on the part of security forces and protestors as they have covered difference political mobilizations in at least three municipalities of the state.

The organization Article 19, which specializes in the defense of freedom of expression, has condemned “the attack against those who report, which violates the right to free expression for finding and distributing information of public interest.”  Article 19 added to its press-note: “For the same reason, we express our concern for the slow intervention of the authorities to put a halt to attacks and for their participation in one of these, when they have the obligation to guarantee freedom of expression and right to information.”

According to received reports, on 6 March was the most violent day for journalists who were covering a mobilization in the Santa Cruz Xoxocotlán municipality, where mayor José Julio Aquino ordered the municipal police to suppress the protest with tear-gas and beatings.  On that day were attacked the journalists Esteban Marcial, of Noticias; Jesús Cruz Porras, collaborator with Proceso; Othón García, of Rotativo; José Cortés, of Telemundo; Jorge Arturo Pérez Alfonso, photographer for La Jornada, and Alejandro Villafañe, from El Imparcial. Villafañe was hospitalized for his injuries.

In other news, in the Salina Cruz municipality of the Tehuantepec Isthmus, on 26 February and 5 March, the coverage of protests left beaten José Luis López, of Diario del Istmo, as well as Connie Balgorria and Esteban Ramón Hernández, of Meganoticias.

In this sense, on 6 March Raúl Plascencia Villanueva, president of the National Commission on Human Rights (CNDH), reported to the Supreme Court of Justice in the Nation that in 2011, the organization received 98 cases of attacks on journalists.

For more information (in Spanish):

En nueve días son agredidos 10 periodistas en Oaxaca (Article 19, 8 de marzo de 2012)

Exige Artículo 19 castigo a agresores de 10 periodistas en Oaxaca(Proceso, 8 de marzo de 2012)

Contra la libertad (Oaxaca-ya.com, 8 de marzo de 2012)

En nueve días son agredidos 10 periodistas en Oaxaca (Libertad de Expresión.org, 8 de marzo de 2012)

Periodistas se manifiestan frente al Palacio de Gobierno, exigen justicia por agresiones (Diario Oaxaca, 8 de marzo de 2012)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: