Oaxaca: human-rights defender Mayen Pilar Arellanes Cano threatened

On 1 September, the Regional Center for Human Rights “Bartolomé Carrasco Briseño” A.C. denounced the harassment and robbery directed against the lawyer and human-rights defender Mayen Pilar Arrellanes Cano, member of CEDEDH (the Center for Defense of Human Rights “IIN NTUSU”).  Mayen Pilar Arellanes is also the founder of the “Committee of Liberation 25 November” and recipient of precautionary measures granted by the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights in 2007.

The denounced happenings occurred on 26 August.  The testimony of Mayen Pilar Arellanes details “when [she] was returning from the community where she works–that is, Yalagag–at approximately 7pm I arrived at my home, which is located in the agrarian reform neighborhood in Oaxaca de Juárez, I was surprised to find that when I entered, the doors that lead to the kitchen and my bedroom were open and all my belongings thrown around, my drawers emptied, and my papers all disorganized.  From what I could tell I am missing my laptop computer that contains archives regarding cases that I have been documenting since 2006–ones that deal with great systematic rights-violations.  This is the case with Lauro Juárez, an indigenous Chatino who has been disappeared since December 2007.  Among other personal and work-related data there was found photographs of the same cases of systematic rights-violations as well as personal and family photos.  My USB memory-stick with recorder that also contains data was also taken; it had testimony of political prisoners from 2005-2006 and some archives of rights-violations directed against indigenous peoples, particularly those of Yalalag.  I am also missing my notebook, which I always carry with me when I got to meetings; it contains notes regarding rights-violations as well as 2000 pesos in cash.  They also took my badge that identifies me as a member of the Center for the Defense of Human Rights IIN NTUSU.”

The Regional Center for Human Rights “Bartolomé Carrasco Briseño” has demanded that the Mexican State put an end to the violent threats and other forms of intimidation directed at Arellanes Cano as well as carry out investigations to punish those responsible.

For more information (in Spanish):

Urgent Action from the Regional Center for Human Rights “Bartolomé Carrasco Briseño” (1 September 2010)

For more information from SIPAZ (in English):

Oaxaca: Urgent Action in the case of Padre Uvi (13 August 2010)

Leave a comment