Chiapas: Alejandro Díaz Santis announces fast to demand freedom

alejandrodias-normal

On 11 January, the prisoner Alejandro Díaz Santis, adherent to the Sixth Declaration of the Lacandona Jungle and a member in “Solidarity with the Voz del Amate” who is being held in Cereso no. 5 in San Cristóbal de Las Casas, published a communique upon completing half of his prison sentence.  He mentions that “due to the injustices and for being poor and indigenous, I was and remain incarcerated unjustly since 11 May 1999.  Today, 11 January 2014, I have spent 14 years and 8 months covering 50% of my sentence, which amounts to 29 years and 6 months.  It is for this reason that today I will fast and pray for 12 hours daily over the course of 4 days, requesting that God give me strength and wisdom to continue on with my struggle.  In this way I call on President Enrique Peña Nieto and Veracruz Governor Javier Duarte to take account of my case, given that the evidence is plagued with irregularities.  I request justice be done.  Lastly, I call on my comrades brothers and sisters to continue demanding true justice and liberty always.”

For more information (in Spanish):

Alejandro Díaz Santís anuncia ayuno por su libertad (Chiapas Denuncia, 13 de enero de 2014)

For more information from SIPAZ (in English):

National: Patishtán requests that Peña Nieto release all prisoners who are unjustly imprisoned (9 December 2013)

Chiapas: 9 prisoners in solidarity with the Voz del Amate released, but Patishtán will remain imprisoned (20 July 2013)

Leave a comment